Container Garden

28Jun09

Have you noticed that everyone and their mother seems to be gardening and growing their own fruits, vegetables and herbs?  I’m not sure if this has always been going on, and I just haven’t noticed, or if it’s a result of the recession and/or the local / organic foods movement.  Well, I’m hopping on the bandwagon!!  A few years ago, I tried to grow a basil plant, but my apartment lacked sunlight, and things like to die on me anyways, so it didn’t go so well.  This year, for my birthday, the Boy built me a shelving unit and installed growlights.  And my container garden is a go!  I love wandering over to it and looking at it and plucking some drying, dying leaves.  And when I go to work, I like to say goodbye.  I kind of miss my plants when I go to work.  Here are some pictures!

kimson lee peppers

kimson lee peppers

rosemary and thyme

rosemary and thyme

thyme

thyme

swiss chard

swiss chard

basil

basil

I’ve also got some chives, more kimora lee peppers, and some lettuces, that are struggling a little. I’ve also got some winter thyme, which I think is more like the stuff you find in supermarkets, and is woodier than the english thyme I showed you.

I’m also a member of the new fish csa, the Cape Ann Fresh Catch. A quarter share has given us a giant fish each week, head and tail intact. I can’t even fit the thing in my freezer without bending it.

I REALLY want to be a member of a vegetable CSA, but I travel too much, and can never pick them up. Hitting up the farmer’s markets will have to do.

OK, that’s it for now. Going to get back to knitting my first pair of socks, while watching Galactica 1980. Awesomely bad!

No Responses Yet to “Container Garden”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

